A stroll down UKIP Street

UKIP leader Nigel Farage (Via Telegraph

UKIP leader Nigel Farage (Via Telegraph Media)

A fly-on-the-wall ramble down UKIP’s online domain.

The UKIP manifesto has a simple catchphrase: Policies for People. Well why not? These policies are for UKIP’s ‘Peoples Army’, the non-violent-yet-somewhat-opinionated silver haired foxes that tend to have a certain nostalgia for the good old days- before those nasty gravy train kleptocrats from Europe started stealing our freedoms lock, stock and barrel. UKIP leader Nigel Farage is of course your average chap. Just like most other Brits, he went to a private school and then decided to start trading commodities in the city of London. UKIP is a one man band centred about one man- and such a method of party politics is doomed to fail, is it not?

Policies for People happens to be UKIP’s little advertised manifesto. Is it not strange that we rarely see Farage, or any other UKIP ‘shadow minister’ talk of their own policies in the media? One common criticism of UKIP is that they ‘have no other policies other than immigration and Europe’. This is not the case. They do indeed have other policies, but we never seem to see them advertised or discussed on media platforms. The sad truth is, the majority of people voting for UKIP in May will simply not know what else they stand for, and nor do I.

It's all about me, guys

It’s all about me, guys

I took the liberty to visit their website to try and figure out what else these guys wanted to do to our country. One of the first things I noticed was that they call themselves a ‘unashamedly Patriotic party’. Immediately, I drew vague similarities between UKIP and that Tea Party movement in the States. People’s Army.. Patriotic Party- this kind of language could best be described as ‘soft-rhetoric’ at best. I decided to further look at some of the website tabs they had on offer. After clicking on the issues tab, I read something somewhat alarming, that immediately made me think of the crumbling B.N.P manifesto. Tucked in at the bottom of their Issues page, I carefully read the ‘Free Speech and Democracy’ sub-section.

No to Political Correctness read the first line. The reason being? ‘It stifles free speech’. Now, I do understand how this is a contentious issue. But let’s face it, the days of casual discrimination are gone. The only victims of political correctness would be perhaps females, ethnic minorities, the disabled and other members of society. If UKIP made political correctness ‘legal’.. somehow… even though it is not necessarily illegal in the first place, would it honestly affect you if you were a white Englishman with no visible health problems? Probably not. Perhaps this could be one of the people that the ‘Policies for People’ is talking about. I’m confused.

After doing some further casual scrolling on the website, I ended up on their ‘Our People’ tab. I did begin to wonder whether this was the pecking order of UKIP. First comes Nigel Farage, the enlightened commander of the Peoples Army. Then comes the MEP’s, his assistants in the mission to destroy the European Union. Thirdly, the ‘Key People’, who are pretty much people we have never even heard of, nor do any of them hold any sort of shadow policy position. Next we have the Parliament people, which consists of 3 Lords and 2 ex-Tory defects. We of course know about the two MP’s that jumped ship, Carswell and Reckless. Finally we have the NEC, for which the acronym is

not clearly illustrated on the website. After a quick Google search, I discovered that this was their National Executive Commission and the purpose, or role is not clearly stated on the website. I can’t say I have heard of anyone on the UKIP NEC. Apart from Nigel Farage of course.

I have come to a conclusion. I found UKIP’s manifesto, website and general ethos somewhat minimal. Infact, even the most prolific policies of this party are not really well described on any platform, be it online or in the media. If I did agree on leaving the European Union, or even encouraging political correctness, I still would not know what I was really voting for if I voted UKIP in May. I am also convinced that many of you who are reading this can not concisely describe how UKIP would rule Britain. I certainly can’t.

By Stuart Chapman, Senior Writer for Daily Political View.

Twitter: (@SP_Chapman)

What are your thoughts on the latest article?

Leave a Reply

